currently…

I got this idea from Katy Upperman who got the idea for this bi-weekly sharing post from some other. We’ll see how it goes. 😉

I’m not doing very well, but I’m going to try to be better. So we’ll see how that goes.

 

LOVING… that it feels almost like spring today.

Almost. I mean I still had the heat on, but it wasn’t gray so I’m trying…

 

READING… The Love that Split the World

Which I’m finally getting into. Took a while…

TLTSTW
WATCHING… The Good Wife.

I’m reveling in the final season of The Good Wife, in fact.

The Good Wife is strange show for me. It’s exactly my kind of show. A great balance between case of the week and long-term arc. But it’s based in reality which is not usually my thing. I’ve always liked lawyer shows. And Juliana Margulies. And Christine Baranski. And Matt Czechy.

the-good-wife-cast-e1445214819767

I have no desire to rewatch episodes, the mark of a show I love, but it’s the only show on a major broadcast network that I DVR. I never fail to be charmed by the storytelling and acting. So I will miss The Good Wife when it’s gone.
LISTENING TO… Velocity Girl.

Or I tried. Spotify was being annoying.

So here’s a link to the rap mixtape my husband made that I mentioned last time. It’s good.

THINKING ABOUT… starting over.

Last fall I almost quit writing because I wasn’t happy with the genre I was writing in. I wasn’t happy with my mystery writing. So I decided to try something else, to shift back to YA which was more or less where I started writing.  And while I’m happier with my writing (I think) I’m feeling really adrift because I feel like I lost a lot of the connections I’d made in the mystery writer world. I feel like I don’t have any credibility for having written, polished, queried and attracted an agent. I feel like the only person who was genuinely supportive of my turning down that agent offer was the agent.

I feel stuck, back at the beginning, floundering with a draft that’s all over the place.

I feel lonely and really sad.

What I don’t feel is wrong. I don’t regret the decision I made, but it’s still really fucking hard.

ANTICIPATING… When We Collided by Emory Lord.

WWC

I’m even going to go buy it in person because I want to read it now! Or in the very least next Tuesday.

MAKING ME HAPPY…

Honestly, and don’t take this the wrong way, but I’ve been in such a funk lately that *nothing* is all I got.

It’s not that I’m unhappy.  I’m just tired of cold and wet and toiling on a WIP that feels like crap at every turn. I’m tired of plans falling through and kids who whine and cry and grump at me constantly.

Spring can’t come fact enough and it will backslide more times than I want to think about on the precipice of the stretch of good weather this year. So that’s where I am… nowhere.

(which oddly enough I read as now-here more often than no-where. Maybe I should focus on that more. 😉 )

2 thoughts on “currently…

  1. I feel ya, lady. I’ve totally had those down, lonely times, too, and they suck. But! I’m glad you went back to writing YA, and I’m so happy that you feel confident in your decision to pass on that agent’s offer. Seems like a difficult thing to do, but also like you did the right thing. For real, feel free to email me anytime. (katy.upperman@live.com) I’m pretty good at commiserating. 🙂 In other news, I absolutely loved THE LOVE THAT SPLIT THE WORLD and I hope it ends up snagging your heart like it did mine. I’m so glad you joined in on Currently, and I can’t wait to read your future posts. ❤

  2. I just finished THE LOVE THAT SPLIT THE WORLD and I reeling. It was absolutely beautiful. The Woman Who Fell From the Sky and Red Brother, Black Brother are two of my favorite Native American stories.

    I feel better than I did Monday/Tuesday when I wrote and posted. Mostly because I got some decent revising done. And I really don’t doubt the decision to change genres. I feel like I’m writing to my strengths instead of compensating constantly for my weaknesses. I also feel like I have a lot more ideas with fewer restrictions. What I had not anticipated was starting over in a new pond.

    and thanks. I may take you up on the commiserating. 🙂

Leave a comment