currently…

I got the idea for this bi-weekly blog post from  Katy Upperman.

I’m enjoying it.

LOVING… moving my kitchen table.

kitchen table

It’s the little things.

 

READING… just finished THE LAST BOY AND GIRL IN THE WORLD by Siobhan Vivian

boy and girl pin

(I pre-ordered just for this pin, because I am an unapologetic dork.)

Loved this. Loved Keeley! who is delightfully immature, and I spent most of the last half of the book just wanting to hug her as her life spiraled out of her control.

The set-up is great, a dying mill town that’s going to be flooded ‘for the greater good’. It’s about friendship as romance and the fight to hang on to the past even when the future is barreling at you full speed, and captures wonderfully the out of control feeling of being a teen who knows exactly what’s going on around them without any recourse.

WATCHING… baseball!

The Mariner’s aren’t losing yet so I’M IN!

LISTENING TO… the pitter-patter of my 4 year-old awake way too early for me.

I get up at 5am so I can write. Okay, okay, 5:20 but close enough. I move around the house trying not to make a sound so I can eke as much alone time as possible. Today I was caught. hrm…

johnny

(this pictures is from last Thursday, but he’s worn that shirt since he got so it’s mostly accurate.(

THINKING ABOUT… aspirational dressing and attachment to clothes I don’t wear but want to love.

Does anyone else have this problem? Aspirational clothing are those pieces that you really want, but never wear. Something that’s  just enough outside your comfort zone that you know you could wear it if you had the right shirt to go with it or place to go. Or the brand that makes your dream clothes does fit you quite right. (I’m lookin’ at you Boden!) And you should get rid of them, but you can’t because LOVE…

Here are a few of my aspirational items…

clothes

ANTICIPATING… getting my draft off to my CP

That will mean I am officially done with this personal, i.e. no-feedback, revision round, which has felt horribly, unproductive and completely disheartening… But look where I am now!

Screenshot (10)

(all of the scene should be blue, purple or pink. I have a system.)

MAKING ME HAPPY… the YA Buccaneers Spring Writing Bootcamp

to-do calendar

I’m getting in the habit of setting concise daily goals, which is what works for me. And I’m getting things done. Although it doesn’t look like it from this pictures. Most of those to-dos have been crossed off.

Maybe I will get a fancier planner next year!

WISHING… I was a better photographer.

I’m trying to be a better documentarian of my life via pictures. I have been a photographer. Not just kind of inept, but it doesn’t occur to me to take picture. But, I’m trying to be more active on Instagram (where I am @kfockepearson) through challenges. I did the first few days of #MayIGAuthors but I got off track during the weekend. I might be able to do todays? We’ll see.

So, all of the pictures today were taken by me which is big even if the pictures aren’t great.

8 thoughts on “currently…

  1. I’d just jump right back into #MayIGAuthors. I’ve missed a few days, too, but whatever. 🙂 I’ve been enjoying your pictures so much! Loved hearing your thoughts on THE LAST BOY AND GIRL IN THE WORLD. It’s sitting in my (enormous) TBR stack, but I’m thinking I need to bump it up closer to the top. Have an awesome week, lady!

    1. I can definitely do today’s #MayIGAuthors and I still want to do yesterdays. Nothing I did yesterday was terribly inspirational though. lol

      THE LAST BOY AND GIRL IN THE WORLD ended up being a lot more than I expected. Always a good thing.

      You have a good week too!

  2. I love Instagram, it’s so addictive. I will take a photo of anything, but especially books, yummy food, my kid or my dog 🙂 Love the photo of your son in his Paw Petrol t-shirt – that show is so cute.
    I’m loving YA Bootcamp too. I’m getting a lot done. Good luck with your goals this week.

  3. The way the YA Bootcamp is set up is really good for me. I used to be part of a weekly accountability group, but just weekly goals didn’t work. Too specific and general at the same time. Breaking down big ideas into goals and smaller steps that I can cross off in my planner, however, is perfect. At least a week in it is. 😛

    I’m trying to be better with pictures. Next up learning how to size my pictures so they don’t take over everything!

  4. That pin for THE LAST BOY AND GIRL IN THE WORLD is so cute! And the book sounds great, I’m gonna add it to my TBR-list.

    And, hello, fellow baseball fan 🙂 I’m an Orioles girl here.

    Good luck with your bootcamp goals this week!

    1. *waves* As much as I love baseball, I can end up really frustrated with it here in Seattle. The Mariners frequently “quit” half way through the season. But it is one of my favorite things to write to so their winning is good for me. 😀

      I’m already feeling behind on my goals. I’m blaming my 4yo who has interrupted early writing time twice this week. ugh. There is no way in my day to make that up.

  5. Best of luck with the YA Buccaneers Boot Camp! I’m participating too, trying to keep track of everything in my planner. Since I’ve started doing daily to-do lists (actually writing everything out) I’ve gotten better about accomplishing things. Checking things off my list is so satisfying!

    Have a great week!

    1. I’m doing the same thing, tracking my daily goals in a planner. Writing out tomorrow’s before I go to bed each night is really helpful. And I think I’m going to get some stars instead of crossing things off so I can still see my notes. And STARS!

      You have a great week too!

Leave a Reply

